The Abersham Flat at Edinburgh Fringe 2017!!

Sorry for the gross exclamation marks, but it’s an exclamatory (??) time!!! This August I’ll be debuting my first hour long show at the Edinburgh Fringe. I’m doing 25 shows in a row, August 3rd – 27th, at Cabaret Voltaire in the Upstairs Room at 10:30pm as a part of the Laughing Horse Free Fringe.

The show is about my experiences living in a shared flat in London with a con-man named Andy in 2015. He moved in, got a job at the agency who were letting the flat, and then used that position to defraud new tennants as they entered the flat by telling them he owned the place. While he was doing this I kept a blog about him in secret (if you’ve not had a read it’s linked off of the home page of this site) publishing entries every week about his developing web of lies and various outbursts. The show is free with a donation at the end, and I’ll also be selling copies of the 44-page zine compiling all the blog posts I wrote during my time with Andy for £5.

I’ve been working on the show for about a year and I’m excited to perform it every night for a month. I anticipate various stages of hope and melancholy, alternating ever faster towards the end of the run before culminating in a final dramatic breakdown possibly necessitating a mass apology and public shaming on my part. I’ve heard for years about the endurance test that performing a full run in Edinburgh presents, and while I’ve been down the last three years running, I’ve never taken the plunge and just DONE IT. I feel like a bit of a coward to be honest. But I’m doing it this year. It’s happening.

If you’re reading this and are going to be in Edinburgh during the Fringe, please come and see my show. If you’re not going to be there, but know someone who is, please let them know about it. If your life is in no way connected with the 2017 Edinburgh Fringe, but you still feel like we might be low-level soulmates somehow, feel free to email me with encouragement and messages of goodwill, or your problems, which I will happily solve.

Abersham-V1-2

Much love, Aidan ‘Taco’ Jones.

Leave a Reply

